Metaphorical smiles!

Grey lights

and black shadows 

flooding the stairs 

of my apartment 

as I climb down.

More drowned 

in the bittersweet taste 

of the wine at the back of my mouth,

my steps heavier with every stair, down.

Outside, it is the sun 

dissolving into the horizon like yesterday and the day before. 

Grey lights and black shadows flooding the lane down 

till the general stores. 

Like that of your eyes, 

which once, 

never got weary looking into mine.

Eyes, that bowed down 

the last time we met, under oscillating lids, anchored to some endless sorrow. 

It faded. 

Like the grey lights, 

that faded into 

the black shadows as I walked past the general stores and further.

There’s so much distance between us. 

The sun, the earth and a million lightyears filling in the vacuum in between. 

So far are the stars, 

and farther our first kiss. 

My heart feels ancient. 

But, ah! It feels.

I’d lose you too,

Like many others in the chaos 

and crowd. 

But before that, 

I’ll live decades 

in the pages stashed beneath my ashtray. 

And smile in metaphors 

that utter nuisance.

So, the night comes a little less weary.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑